HBL PSL: Lahore Qalandars off to an short-tempered start chasing 137


HBL PSL: Lahore Qalandars off to an short-tempered start chasing 137

DUBAI: Brendon McCullum and Jason Roy saw Lahore Qalandars off to a volatile start as the team hurtled target of 137 on Friday evening.

Well, Roy fell for 27 off 14 balls but then McCullum carried forward his drive.

Led through Sarfraz, Quetta were classified to 136/9 in 20 overs later Brendon McCullum of Lahore Qalandars won toss besides elected to field first.

Then, Rilee Rossouw was single Quetta batsman who might show some confrontation against Lahore’s disciplined bowling then scored 60 off 47. So, his innings comprised three 4 and two 6.

However, Asad Shafiq might score 29 off 28 deliveries.

Similarly, for Lahore, PSL debutant Mohammad Irfan (Junior) got 3 wickets from 26 runs, Sunil Naine and Sohail Tanvir got 2 wickets.

Head to head

Well, the two teams conflicted against each other two times in last season. However, Lahore Qalandars won first encounter through 63 runs, although Quetta Gladiators were winning in second clash through 2 wickets.

In the spotlight

Well, all eyes are on Brendon McCullum, and one of the biggest batsmen in the littler format of the match. Expectations are already successively on sky-high. New off his volatile batting for Big Bash team Brisbane Heat, and McCullum has previously rung alarm bells for new rival bowlers. Additionally, Lahore Qalandars will watch the rally around him and taunt to dream big below his bold and fearless management.

Additional key player to watch out for is Umar Akmal, who scored highest in last PSL 2016’s (average over 47). Moreover, it will be not less than an exploit to see him besides McCullum bat together.

Furthermore, Former Black Caps James Franklin and Grant Elliot will also be in act for the Lahore Qalandars. So, West Indies’ Sunil Narine and England’s opener Jason Roy are other welcome embellishments to the team.

Moreover, for Quetta Gladiators, in last season’s veterans Kevin Pietersen, Ahmad Shehzad and Luke Wright will be back in act below the Sarfraz Ahmed’s captaincy. Approximately key overseas players comprise South Africa’s Rilee Rossouw and Sri Lanka’s Thisara Perera.


Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Anwar Ali, Asad Shafiq, Zulfiqar Babar, Ahmad Shehzad, Mohammad Nawaz, Kevin Pietersen, Luke Wright, Hassan Khan,  Umar Gul, Tymal Mills, Saad Nasim, Bismillah Khan, Umar Amin, Mir Hamza, Noor Wali, Thisara Perera, Rilee Rossouw, Mahmudullah, Nathan McCullum

Support staff: Sir Viv Richards (Team Mentor), Azam Khan (Team Manager), Moin Khan (Head Coach), Abdul Razzaq (Assistant/Bowling Coach).

Lahore Qalandars: Brendon McCullum (captain), Sunil Narine, Yasir Shah,  Umar Akmal, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Rizwan Cameron Delport, , Azhar Ali, Grant Elliot, Zafar Gohar, Fakhar Zaman, Ghulam Mudassar,  Bilawal Bhatti, Aamir Yamin, Saif Badar,  Usman Qadir, Jason Roy, James Franklin, Chris Green, Muhammad Irfan

Support staff: Aqib Javed (Director Cricket Operations), Brendon McCullum (Mentor), Paddy Upton (Coach), Shawn Bradstreet (Fielding Coach), Fawad Rana (Chairman), Mudassar Nazar (Icon), Sameen Rana (Cheif Operating Officer), Atif Rana (Cheif Executive Officer), H.E Sultan Bin Jassim Al Thani (Patron In Chief).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here